
 
 
 
 
 
September  14, 2011 
 
 

INVITATION TO COMMENT  
NOTICE TO ATTORNEYS AND ALL INTERESTED  

PARTIES 
 

 
Below is a list of proposed amendments to Local Rules.     Please submit your comments to 
mary.smith@lake.courts.ca.gov by close of business October 17, 2011.  
 
 
Chapter 4  Criminal    
 
   Rule 4.4  Setting of Dates (amended) 
 
Chapter 5    Family Law 
 
   Rule 5.4 Mediation (amended) 
   Rule 5.8 Family Centered Case Review Program (new) 
 
New Forms: 
 LK-100 Family Law Case Status Report (Mandatory) 
 LK-101 Joint Mandatory Settlement Conference Stmt (Mandatory) 
 LK-102 Request for Mandatory Settlement Conference/Trial Date (Mandatory) 
  
   
     
    
 
  
  

DEADLINE FOR COMMENTS  - OCTOBER 17, 2011  
 

 
 

Superior Court 
 

State of California 
County of Lake 

Courthouse 
Lakeport, California 95453 

707-263-2262 

MARY E. SMITH 
_______ 

 
COURT EXECUTIVE/CLERK 

JURY COMMISSIONER 
_______ 
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Superior Court, County of Lake 
Criminal Rules – Modifications September 14, 2011 

 
 
4.4 Setting of Dates (new 1/1/2010, amd. 1/1/2012) 
 
A. Unless otherwise ordered for good cause, the court in felony cases at the 
arraignment on the information or indictment, shall set dates approximately as follows 
when the defendant does not enter a general waiver of the 60-day trial requirement: 
 
 1.  Motion hearing four weeks after arraignment on the information or indictment; 
 2.  Mandatory settlement and trial readiness conference five weeks after 
arraignment on the information or indictment;  
 3.  Trial assignment in the master calendar department on the Friday before trial; 
and 
 4.  Trial six weeks after arraignment on the information or indictment.   
 
(B This is new, the old B is now C) 
 
B. Unless otherwise ordered for good cause, the court in felony cases at the 
arraignment on the information or indictment, shall set dates approximately as follows 
when the defendant does enter a general waiver of 60-day trial requirement: 
 
 1.  Motion hearing eight weeks after arraignment on the information or 
indictment; 
 2.  Mandatory settlement and trial readiness conference ten weeks after 
arraignment on the information or indictment; 
 3.  Trial assignment in the master calendar department on Friday before trial; and 
 4.  Trial twelve weeks after arraignment on the information or indictment.  
 
(C is now the old B, and the old C is now D) 
 
C. Unless otherwise ordered for good cause, the court in misdemeanor cases shall 
set a disposition or setting hearing within three weeks of the defendant’s first 
appearance in the calendar court with appointed or retained counsel. 
 
(D is the old C with new language added) 
 
D. If a disposition is not reached and unless otherwise ordered for good cause, the 
court in misdemeanor cases at the time for disposition or setting of trial, shall set dates 
approximately as follows if the defendant enters a general waiver of 30-day or 45-day 
trial requirement:  
 
 1.  Mandatory settlement and trial readiness conference three weeks after the 
disposition or setting hearing;  
 2.  Trial assignment in the master calendar department on the Friday before trial; 
and 
 3.  Trial five weeks after the disposition or setting hearing.   



Superior Court, County of Lake 
Mediation Rule Modification – September 2, 2011 

 
 
 
 
 
 
5.4 Mediation (new 1/1/2009, amd 1/1/2012) 
 
A.  All contested child custody and visitation matters must be scheduled for 
mediation.    Lake County is a confidential county and mediation shall be confidential.  
Confidentiality is not protected where the mediator has to fulfill her/his responsibilities as 
a mandated reporter of suspected child abuse or is required to warn of threatened 
violent behavior against a reasonably identifiable victim or victims.  The mediator does 
not provide recommendations to the court regarding custody and visitation if agreement 
is not reached in mediation.  The mediator will notify the court if an agreement is 
reached or not.  
 
B. Prior to mediation each parent must attend a parent orientation workshop.   The 
petitioner should sign up to attend the workshop in conjunction with the filing of his or 
her initial papers.  The respondent should sign up to attend the workshop as soon as 
practicable after being served with papers.   It is not necessary that the parents attend 
the same session or class. workshop. Alternatively, parents may sign up for and/or 
attend the workshop on the day of their first court appearance.    Classes are 
approximately 2 hours in length and are generally held every Monday morning that is 
not a court holiday.  4 hours in length and generally scheduled twice per month.  Class 
schedules can be obtained at the clerk’s office.  Children must not be brought to parent 
orientation.   
 



SUPERIOR COURT, COUNTY OF LAKE  
DRAFT FAMILY LAW CASE MANAGEMENT RULES  (9/13/2011) 
 
 

 
 
5.8 Family Centered Case Review Program 
 
The Court is implementing a Family Centered Case Review Program  in order to promote the 
prompt disposition of family law actions, to expedite the processing of the case, and to reduce 
the stress and cost of family law litigation, pursuant to Family Code § 2450.   The program 
components are as follows:   
 
A. Case Flow Standards 
 
1. Case Review Conference - Each case is scheduled for case review conferences.   
Attendance at calendared case review conferences is required either in person or by telephone 
unless otherwise specified by the court.    The court may set further case review conferences for 
any stage of the proceedings, set other hearings as appropriate or refer self-represented 
litigants to the Family Law Facilitator’s Office.   
 
2. Proof of Service -   If initial pleadings are not served within 60 days from the date of filing 
and the proof of service filed with the court, attendance at the case review conference is 
mandatory.  
 
3. Declaration Regarding Service of the Preliminary Declarations of Disclosure (FL141) -    
Parties must file the Declaration Regarding Service of Preliminary Declaration of Disclosure (FL-
141) before the second calendared case review conference.   See chart below “Case Plan 
Disposition Time Standards and Court Events.” 
 
4. Income and Expense Declaration (FL150) or Financial Statement Simplified (FL-155) -    
Parties who request support, fees or costs, must serve and file the Income and Expense 
Declaration (FL-150) or Financial Statement Simplified (FL-155) before the second calendared 
case resolution conference.   See chart below “Case Plan Disposition Time Standards and 
Court Events.”    
 
5. Joint Mandatory Settlement Conference Statement (LK 101) -   This form must be filed 
with the court prior to the Mandatory Settlement Conference.   Before filing this form, the parties  
must meet and confer in person or by telephone regarding the case unless a protective order is 
in place.   The Petitioner is responsible for coordinating timely completion and filing of the form.    
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B.  Case Plan Disposition Time Standards and Court Events  

 
From Filing Date Court Event Documents to be Filed by Parties Prior 

to  Court Event 
Approximately 60 days Case Review Conference regarding the filing of the 

Proof of Service.   No appearance is necessary if the 
Proof of Service is filed before the conference.  

Valid proof of service of summons and 
petition or Family Law Status Report (LK-
100)-(Items 1 & 2 only). 

Approximately 180 days Case Review Conference regarding status and the filing 
of the Default (FL-165), Response (FL-120) or (FL-220).  
No appearance is necessary if the following are filed: 
 
a.  Request to Enter Default (FL-165), or Response (FL-
120) or (FL-220) and  
 
b  Declaration re Preliminary Declaration of Disclosure 
(FL-141) (Dissolution/Legal Separation Only), and 
 
c.  Family Law Status Report (LK-100), or   
 
d.  Judgment  forms or Request for Mandatory 
Settlement Conference/Trial (LK-102)  
 
If compelling circumstances exist and a default or 
Response cannot be filed, a Family Law Status Report 
only may be filed, with an attached declaration detailing 
the circumstances. 
 
Mandatory Settlement Conference and Trial Date 
will be set by the court after filing requirements met 
pursuant to Local Rule 5.8(B)    

Request to Enter Default (FL-165) or  
 
Response (FL-120) or (FL-220), and 
  
Declaration re Preliminary Declaration of 
Disclosure (FL-141) (Dissolution or Legal 
Separation only) and 
 
Family Law Status Report (LK-100) or 
 
Judgment forms or Request for Mandatory 
Settlement Conference/Trial (LK-102) 

Approximately 15 days 
Prior to the Mandatory 
Settlement Conference 

File Document Review (Internal Court Process) if 
Response (FL-120) or (FL-220) is filed.   The following 
must be filed fifteen (15) days prior to the Mandatory 
Settlement Conference: 
 
a. Joint Mandatory Settlement Conference Statement  
(LK-101). 
 
b. Witness List. 
 
c.  Current Income and Expense Declaration (FL-150) 
 
d.  Property Declarations (FL-160)  

Declaration re Final Declaration of 
Disclosure (FL-141) (Dissolution or Legal 
Separation only), and 
 
Current Income and Expense Declaration 
(FL-150) or Financial Statement Simplified 
(FL-150) or Financial Statement (FL-155) ; 
if support, fees or costs are requested, 
and  
 
 
Joint Mandatory Settlement Conference 
Statement (LK-101) and  Property 
Declarations (FL-160) 

Approximately 240 to 300 
Days 

Mandatory Settlement Conference  if Response (FL-
120) or (FL-220) is filed.  

 

Approximately 200 to 360 
Days 

Trial if needed 
 

 

Approximately 240 to 360 
Days  
 

Case Review Conference regarding filing the judgment Judgment or Family Law Status Report 
(LK-100) 
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C. Results of Failure to Comply with Case Flow Rules 
 
All family law cases will be reviewed for compliance with these rules, and orders to show cause 
may be issued for failure to comply.   Failure of party or parties to comply with these family law 
rules, including failing to appear at a mandatory court event or failing to file required forms, may 
result in the sanctions referenced in Section 1.6 “Sanctions for Non-Compliance” of these local 
rules.  
D. Mandatory Settlement Conferences 
 
A mandatory settlement conference and trial date will be calendared by the court according to 
the case disposition time standards and court events outlined in section 5.8 A of these rules.   A 
party however, may file a “Request for Mandatory Settlement Conference/Trial Date” (LK-102) 
to request an earlier date for the mandatory settlement conference and trial.   A counter request 
may be filed within ten (10) days after service.   The mandatory settlement conference and trial 
will then be set no earlier than the later date requested in either the request or counter request.  
 
All contested cases shall be set for mandatory settlement conference.   
 
Parties must complete and file the following fifteen (15) court days before the mandatory 
settlement conference: 
 1. Declaration re Final Declaration of Disclosure (FL-141) (Dissolution or Legal 
Separation only); 
 
 2. Current income and expense documents (FL-150) or Financial Statement 
Simplified (FL-155), if support, fees, or costs are requested; 
 
 3. Joint Mandatory Settlement Conference Statement (LK-101); 
 
 4.  Property Attachments -   A property Declaration (FL-160), a Mandatory 
Settlement Conference Statement.   If the parties are unable to agree on the contents of the 
attachments, each party may complete and attach the required document. 
 
 5. Disputed Issues -   Each party must attach a concise statement of legal and 
factual positions on all disputed issues. 
 
 6. Parties are encouraged to file the Joint Mandatory Conference Statement jointly 
unless there is a protective order in place.    
 
 7. Witness List - The parties must exchange and file their witness lists that identify 
all witnesses to be called in their case in chief.   The list should include a brief statement of what 
the witness will testify to and a time estimate of the direct examination of that witness. 
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E.  File Document Review 
 
All cases will be reviewed prior to the mandatory settlement conference to determine if the 
parties have complied with the filing deadlines contained in this section.   If a party has not met 
the requirements of this section, the mandatory settlement conference may be continued and an 
order to show cause for sanctions of the non-complying party may be set by the court.    
 
F.  Reinstatement of Dismissed Cases 
 
 
A party to a case dismissed under these rules may apply within 6 months to have their case 
reinstated under CCP 473(b).   The court may reinstate the case upon such terms and 
conditions as the court deems just.  
 
G. Reconciliation  
 
Parties who indicate to the court that they are attempting reconciliation will be relieved of the 
case plan disposition standards.   If, however a dismissal or judgment is not filed within 12 
months of filing the Petition, the court will set the case for case review conference.  
 
 



    
   LK-100 

Mandatory Form FAMILY LAW STATUS REPORT      Page 1 of 2  
LK-100 New 01/12 

 

ATTORNEY OR PARTY WITHOUT ATTORNEY (Name and Address) Telephone Number 

 
 
 
 
 
 

BAR NUMBER: ATTORNEY 

FOR (Name): 

FOR COURT USE ONLY 

SUPERIOR COURT OF CALIFORNIA, COUNTY OF LAKE 
    
   255 North Forbes Street, Lakeport, CA  95453 

 

 

PETITIONER 
 

RESPONDENT 
 

FAMILY LAW CASE STATUS REPORT  CASE NUMBER: 

 

COURT DATE:  

 
 
Use this form to let the Court know what is going on in your case. 
 
1. Reconciled: Have the parties reconciled? 
 
             No  
 
                     Yes, please dismiss the case.  
 
  We are seeing if we can reconcile.   Put case on hold for :        6 months           12 months 
 
2.  Service: 
 
  Respondent has been served 
 
  I need more time for service. 
   
  I need more time for service, I am not sure I want to serve Respondent. 
 
  I cannot find Respondent, I will ask for an order for service by Publication or Posting.  
 
3. Default:  If it has been more than 30 days since the Respondent was served, have you filed the Request to enter Default?              
  
       
  Yes.  If yes, Judgment will be filed on or before ___________________________________ 
   
  No.  If no, why not? 
 
   Response filed. 
 
   We are working together to settle the case and/or are in mediation. 
 
   I have given Respondent more time to file a Response.  
 
   Other: ___________________________________________________________________________ 
 
4.  Settled:  Has the case settled? 
 
  No 
 
  Yes.  If yes, Judgment will be filed on or before: ____________________________________ 
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5. Issues: What are the things you do not have agreement about? 
 
  Child Custody and Visitation  Child Support   Spousal Support 
  
  Dividing Interest in Home   Dividing Pensions   Dividing Debts 
  
  Attorney’s Fee and Costs   Other: _________________________________________ 
 
6. Family Mediation: Have the parties completed Family Mediation? 
 
 
 Petitioner   No    Yes  
 
 Respondent    No    Yes   
 
 
7. Exchange of Information:   (Dissolution or Legal Separation only.) 
 
 Were the Declarations of Disclosure served? 
 
     Preliminary  Filed Declaration re Service (FL-141) 
  
 Petitioner   No     Yes   No  Yes 
 
 Respondent   No     Yes   No  Yes  
 
 Filed and Served current Income and Expense forms? 
 
 Petitioner   No      Yes If, yes, date filed:________________________ 
  
 Respondent   No      Yes  If, yes, date filed: ________________________ 
 
8. Case Progress: 
 
  The case is moving along fine. 
   
  I do not know what to do next. 
 
  I need more time to work out an agreement.  
   
  I need more time because of financial issues.  (for example, selling house, bankruptcy) 
 
  I need more time because of my health or the other person’s health.  
 
  Other reasons for not moving forward: ___________________________________________________________ 
 
  ____________________________________________________ ______________________________________________ 
 
                     ____________________________________________________________________________________________    ___ 
 
9. Mandatory Settlement Conference/Trial Date: 
 
 If a Response has been filed, the Court will schedule a Mandatory Settlement Conference and Trial date, when the Court deems 
 the case at-issue and/or a party files a Request for Mandatory Settlement Conference and Trial.  
 
 When do you think it should be scheduled?    Month: __________________________            
 
10. Dates you are not able to come to Court: __________________________________________________________________ 
 
 _____________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that he foregoing is true and correct.  
 
 
Date:  

 
Petitioner 

 
 

Date:  
Respondent  
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ATTORNEY OR PARTY WITHOUT ATTORNEY (Name and Address) Telephone Number 

 
 
 
 
 
 

BAR NUMBER: ATTORNEY 

FOR (Name): 

FOR COURT USE ONLY 

SUPERIOR COURT OF CALIFORNIA, COUNTY OF LAKE 
    
   255 North Forbes Street, Lakeport, CA  95453 

 

 

PETITIONER 
 

RESPONDENT 
 

JOINT MANDATORY SETTLEMENT 
CONFERENCE STATEMENT 

CASE NUMBER: 

 

 
 
1. Party or Parties (answer one): 
  This statement is submitted jointly by parties. 
  This statement is submitted by only one party.   
 
2. Meeting to Discuss Case. Local Rules require you to meet and discuss the case.   Did you meet and discuss the 
 case? 
 
  Yes  Date:_________________ 
  No  Explain why you did not meet: ________________________________________________________ 
 ______________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
3. Expert Reports.     Are Expert Reports involved in this case?    Yes No 
    Are these reports completed?   Yes No   If no, date all will be completed:___________ 
 
4. Exchange of Information: Were the Declarations of Disclosure served? 
  
    Preliminary   Filed Declaration re Service (FL-141)    
  Petitioner   Yes No    Yes  No 
 Respondent  Yes No    Yes  No 
 
 Filed and Served current Income and Expense forms? 
 
 Petitioner  Yes No If yes, date filed: _________________ 
 Respondent  Yes No If yes, date filed: _________________ 
 
5. If there are issues in your case, do you have an Agreement or Court order? 
 
    Agreement?  If Yes  Written  OR  Court Order 

 a. Child Custody  Yes       No    Written    Court Order 
 b. Child Visitation Yes       No    Written    Court Order 
 c. Child Support  Yes       No    Written    Court Order 
 d. Spousal Support Yes       No    Written    Court Order 
 e. Attorney Fees  Yes       No    Written    Court Order 
 f. Paternity   Yes       No    Written    Court Order   
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6. If you do not agree on these issues, what do you want? 
 
 a. Child Custody  Petitioner _______________________________________________________________ 
    ________________________________________________________________________ 
    Respondent______________________________________________________________ 
    ________________________________________________________________________ 
  
 b. Child Support  Petitioner _______________________________________________________________ 
    ________________________________________________________________________ 
    Respondent______________________________________________________________ 
    ________________________________________________________________________ 
 
 c. Spousal Support Petitioner _______________________________________________________________ 
    ________________________________________________________________________ 
    Respondent______________________________________________________________ 
    ________________________________________________________________________ 
 
 d. Attorney Fees Petitioner _______________________________________________________________ 
    ________________________________________________________________________ 
    Respondent______________________________________________________________ 
    ________________________________________________________________________  
 
 e. Paternity   Petitioner _______________________________________________________________ 
    ________________________________________________________________________ 
    Respondent______________________________________________________________ 
    ________________________________________________________________________ 
 

7. Property and Debts: Attach a Property Declaration (FL-160), Propertizer or other equivalent spreadsheet.   If the 
    parties are unable to agree on the contents of the attachments, each party may complete 
    and attach separate forms.  
 
8.  Disputed Issues: Each party must attach a concise statement of legal and factual positions on any disputed 
    issues.  
 
9. Dates you are not available to come to court: _______________________________________________________ 
 
 
 
 
______________________________________________    ____________________________ 
Signature of Petitioner or Attorney       Date 
 
 
 
 
__________________________________________    _________________________ 
Signature of Petitioner or Attorney       Date 
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ATTORNEY OR PARTY WITHOUT ATTORNEY (Name and Address) Telephone Number 

 
 
 
 
 
 

BAR NUMBER: ATTORNEY 

FOR (Name): 

FOR COURT USE ONLY 

SUPERIOR COURT OF CALIFORNIA, COUNTY OF LAKE 
    
   255 North Forbes Street, Lakeport, CA  95453 

 

 

PETITIONER 
 

RESPONDENT 
 

REQUEST FOR MANDATORY SETTLEMENT 
CONFERENCE/TRIAL DATE   (COUNTER ___  )  

CASE NUMBER: 

 

  
 
 
 

 
Petitioner/Respondent/request that a Mandatory Settlement Conference and Trial date be set on a date after: 
_____________________________.     Estimated trial time:_____________________ 
 
 
Additionally, the following dates are unacceptable for the Mandatory Settlement Conference/Trial Date: ______________________. 
 
 
Names, addresses and telephone numbers of attorney or of parties representing themselves: 
 
 For Petitioner         For Respondent  
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
I hereby represent to the court that all essential parties have been served with process or have appeared, and declared that this 
case is at issue as to all such parties; that no amended or supplemental petition or cross-petition/complaint or other affirmative 
pleading remains unanswered; that, to my knowledge, other parties will not be served with summons prior to the time of trial; and 
that I know of no further pleading(s) to be filed. 
 
 
Date____________________________                                              _______________________________________________ 
         Signature of Attorney/Party 
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PROOF OF SERVICE BY MAIL  
 

 
 
I am over the age of 18 and not a party to this cause.   I am a resident of, or employed in, the county where this mailing occurred.   
I served the REQUEST FOR MANDATORY SETTLEMENT CONFERENCE/TRIAL DATE(FAMILY LAW),  by place a true copy in sealed 
envelope with postage prepaid, addressed to each person whose name and address is given below, and depositing the envelope 
in the United States mail on the date stated below.  
 
 
Date of deposit_____________________________________     Place of deposit ____________________________________ 
          City and State 
 
 
I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is true and correct.  
 
 
 
Executed on_________________________________________ 
 
 
 
 
___________________________________________________  _________________________________________ 
 
   Residence/business address of declarant     Signature of declarant 
 
 
 
 

NAME AND ADDRESSS OF EACH PERSON TO WHO MAILED 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 NOTES:    Any party not in agreement with the information or estimates given in the statement shall, within 10 days after service, 
serve and file a statement in his/her behalf.  
 
Affidavit of mailing must be completed before acceptance by the Court. 
 
All parties must serve Preliminary and Final Declarations of Disclosure and file proof of service with the court prior to the 
Mandatory  Settlement Conference.    
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